In short

Based on listings checked on October 25, 2026, The Woobles Pierre the Penguin kit is the most guided start for a complete beginner: a pre-started piece, a 4 mm hook, yarn, eyes and stuffing, with right- and left-handed videos. The Aeelike set is the fullest toolbox, with 9 hooks from 2 to 6 mm and 655 yards of acrylic yarn.

Some links on this page are affiliate links: if you buy through them, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It never changes our rankings. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate policy

Comparison

ProductTypeHooksYarnInstructionsProjectStated level
The Woobles Beginner Crochet Kit, Pierre the PenguinVideo-led first project (amigurumi)1 hook, 4 mm (G-6)Easy Peasy yarn, 75% cotton, 25% nylon (per The Woobles), pre-startedPDF pattern, right- and left-handed videosPierre the PenguinBeginner, ages 12+
Aeelike Crochet Kit for Beginners, Complete Crochet Set (Navy)All-in-one starter set9 ergonomic hooks, 2.0 to 6.0 mm in 0.5 mm steps, plus 14 knitting needles12 acrylic yarns, 655 yards in total (weight category not stated)printed booklet of basic stitches, hook size guideno set project: practice and small accessoriesages 13 to 80
Coopay Granny Square Crochet Blanket Kit for BeginnersBeginner blanket kit2 hooks, 3.5 mm (E-4) and 4.0 mm (G-6)4 skeins of 150 g / 410 yd, 72% recycled fiber, 28% acrylicstep-by-step video: basic stitches and a continuous granny squaregranny square blanket, about 35 x 35 in per the listing (sizes differ between listings)adults and teens
Lion Brand Beginner's Delight Afghan Crochet KitYarn-brand project kitnot included: requires an H-8 (5 mm) hookLion Brand Mandala (light weight 3 per Lion Brand)Lion Brand pattern L70176, rated Beginnerafghan, about 44 x 60 in, double crochet in one pieceBeginner (Lion Brand pattern)

Our picks

Best video-led first kit

The Woobles Beginner Crochet Kit, Pierre the Penguin

The most guided start: the first round is already done, the 4 mm hook suits the yarn, and right- and left-handed videos cover every step of one small penguin.

Best all-in-one starter set

Aeelike Crochet Kit for Beginners, Complete Crochet Set (Navy)

A toolbox rather than a project: 9 hooks from 2 to 6 mm, 655 yards of acrylic yarn and every notion, with a printed booklet of basic stitches.

Best first blanket kit

Coopay Granny Square Crochet Blanket Kit for Beginners

Four 410-yard skeins, two hooks and a video that teaches the stitches and one continuous granny square, a single motif that grows into a blanket.

Best yarn-brand pattern kit

Lion Brand Beginner's Delight Afghan Crochet Kit

A Lion Brand pattern rated Beginner, all in double crochet and worked in one piece; you supply the H-8 (5 mm) hook, which is not included.

A beginner kit should answer the questions a beginner cannot yet answer alone: which hook, which yarn, how much of it, and what to do first. The four kits below each answer them in a different way, from a fully guided first toy to a box of tools for open-ended practice. They are compared on their contents as listed, not on taste, and we did not use them ourselves.

At a glance

KitHook(s)YarnInstructionsProjectStated audience
The Woobles, Pierre the Penguin4 mm (G-6)Easy Peasy yarn, pre-startedPDF pattern, right- and left-handed videossmall penguin amigurumiBeginner, ages 12+
Aeelike starter set (Navy)9 hooks, 2.0 to 6.0 mm12 acrylic yarns, 655 ydprinted booklet of basic stitchesopen: practice and small piecesages 13 to 80
Coopay granny square blanket3.5 mm (E-4) and 4.0 mm (G-6)4 skeins of 410 yd, 72% recycled fiber, 28% acrylicstep-by-step videocontinuous granny square blanketadults and teens
Lion Brand Beginner’s Delightnot included: H-8 (5 mm) neededLion Brand Mandala (light, 3)Lion Brand pattern rated Beginner44 x 60 in afghan in double crochetBeginner

For a first project in medium (4) yarn, Lion Brand’s 2026 checklist names a 5 mm (H-8) or 5.5 mm (I-9) hook, and the Craft Yarn Council’s 2018 guidelines give 5.5 to 6.5 mm. Kits for amigurumi or fine yarns use smaller hooks on purpose.

What to look for in a beginner kit

Before the picks, the criteria we used, which you can apply to any kit:

  • A complete contents list. At least one hook in a stated size, enough yarn for the project, a yarn needle and instructions. Little Yellow Wheelbarrow’s buying advice is to check that a hook is actually on the list; several popular listings sell hooks without yarn, or yarn without a hook.
  • Hook matched to yarn. The hook should fit the yarn’s weight category, in millimeters.
  • Yarn you can read. Lion Brand’s 2026 guide for new crafters names medium (4) weight as the starting point and warns that dark, variegated and fuzzy yarns hide stitches.
  • Instructions for someone who has never crocheted, ideally with video.
  • A defined first project, small enough to finish.

Our full checklist is in how to choose a crochet kit.

The Woobles, Pierre the Penguin: best video-led first kit

Who it suits: a total beginner, or a gift for one, who wants to finish a first piece with step-by-step help.

The Woobles builds its kits around a single small amigurumi and short videos for each step, filmed for right- and left-handed crocheters. The listing for Pierre the Penguin includes a piece that is already started, so you skip the hardest first round, plus Easy Peasy yarn, a 4 mm hook, safety eyes, stuffing, a yarn needle, stitch markers and a PDF pattern. The brand rates it Beginner and for ages 12 and up.

Keep in mind: it teaches amigurumi, worked in tight rounds, rather than flat rows; the listing’s title mentions scissors that its contents list does not. For more amigurumi kits, see our amigurumi kit comparison.

Aeelike starter set: best all-in-one toolbox

Who it suits: someone who wants every tool at once and plans to learn from free patterns and videos.

This set is a toolbox rather than a guided project: 9 ergonomic hooks from 2.0 to 6.0 mm in half-millimeter steps, 14 knitting needles, 12 acrylic yarns totaling 655 yards, 20 stitch markers, yarn needles, a tape measure, scissors and a tote bag, with a printed booklet of basic stitches. The listing states ages 13 to 80.

Keep in mind: it has no set first project, the listing does not state the yarn’s weight category, and the yarn colors may vary. One bullet counts 23 “hooks” by including the knitting needles: there are 9 crochet hooks.

Coopay granny square blanket kit: best first blanket

Who it suits: a beginner who wants a big, useful result and is ready to repeat one motif many times.

The kit includes 3.5 and 4.0 mm hooks, four skeins of 410 yards in a blend of 72% recycled fiber and 28% acrylic, stitch markers, a yarn needle, scissors and a tape measure, with a video that covers the basic stitches and one continuous granny square. The blanket uses three of the four skeins. Working one square outward keeps the pattern simple while the piece grows.

Keep in mind: the finished size differs between listings, 35 inches square on the US page and other figures elsewhere; Coopay is a seller brand with no separate brand site we could check.

Lion Brand Beginner’s Delight afghan: best yarn-brand pattern kit

Who it suits: a beginner who prefers a pattern from a major yarn maker and already owns, or will buy, a hook.

Lion Brand’s Beginner’s Delight pattern is rated Beginner, uses double crochet only and is worked in one piece, for an afghan of about 44 by 60 inches in Lion Brand’s Mandala yarn. The kit supplies the yarn and pattern.

Keep in mind: the hook is not included: the listing says an H-8 (5 mm) is required. On Amazon.com, the kit is sold by a third-party retailer, not by Lion Brand.

Which kit for which beginner

  • Never held a hook, wants to finish something this week: The Woobles. The pre-started piece and videos remove the two hardest moments, the first round and the first stitches.
  • Wants to try several projects and keep the tools: Aeelike. Nine hook sizes cover everything from fine cotton to medium yarn, and 655 yards is enough for many practice pieces.
  • Wants something useful and large: the Coopay granny square blanket, or Lion Brand’s Beginner’s Delight afghan if you prefer a yarn-brand pattern in plain double crochet and own an H-8 (5 mm) hook.
  • Is left-handed: The Woobles films its videos for both hands; check this point on any other kit before buying.
  • Is a teenager: The Woobles states ages 12 and up and Aeelike 13 to 80; both are aimed at teens and adults rather than young children.

What you may still need to buy

Even a complete kit leaves a few gaps. Small sharp scissors are not in every box, and a yarn needle is easy to lose. If you plan to continue after the first project, add a skein of smooth, light-colored medium (4) yarn and the hook its label recommends, and keep a few stitch markers aside; they cost little and make counting rounds and rows far easier.

Kits we did not include

We left out a popular “yarn crochet kit” that contains hooks and tools but no yarn, a yarn pack sold as a kit with no hook, a beginner scarf kit that is currently unavailable, and listings whose contents contradict their title. A kit without both a hook and yarn is a good purchase only if you already own the missing part.

Kit or separate supplies?

A kit is the simplest route for a first project or a gift. If you already own hooks, or want to choose your own yarn, buying separately may make more sense: our explainer on crochet kits versus separate supplies compares the two. If you are starting with no kit at all, our beginner’s guide to crochet lists exactly what to buy.

Key facts

How we selected

We reviewed about fifteen kits sold on Amazon.com and read each listing's contents on October 25, 2026, checking them against the brand's own page or pattern where one was available. We excluded listings that are not complete kits (a hook set with no yarn, a yarn pack with no hook), listings that were unavailable or would not load, and listings whose contents contradict themselves. We kept one kit per type and ranked them by how much guidance a complete beginner gets: matched hook and yarn, step-by-step instructions with video, and a defined first project. We did not use these kits ourselves; where a listing leaves a detail out or gives two versions, the page says so.

FAQ

What is the best crochet kit for a complete beginner?

A kit built around one small project with video instructions, a matched hook and a yarn that shows the stitches. The Woobles kits are designed this way: the first round is pre-started, and right- and left-handed videos cover each step. A starter set with many hooks is better for someone who wants to practice several projects.

Are crochet kits good for adults?

Yes. Most of the kits here state an adult or teen audience: The Woobles kits are made for ages 12 and up, and the Aeelike set lists ages 13 to 80. Adult kits use standard hooks and yarn and finish real items, from a toy to a full-size blanket.

Do crochet kits include a hook?

Not always. The Woobles, Aeelike and Coopay kits here include hooks, but Lion Brand's Beginner's Delight afghan kit requires an H-8 (5 mm) hook that is not in the box. Check the contents list before buying.

What size hook comes in a beginner crochet kit?

It depends on the yarn. Medium (4) yarn usually calls for 5 to 6.5 mm (H-8 to K-10½); amigurumi kits use smaller hooks for tighter stitches, such as the 4 mm hook in The Woobles kits. Starter sets often include a full range, like Aeelike's 2 to 6 mm.

Sources

Related reading